search
Testimonials

As a social enterprise, our impact extends far beyond those people for whom Emmaus Bristol is a home.

Our shop customers and solidarity furniture recipients benefit from affordable, pre-loved furniture, which helps the environment by re-using the quality items which already exist, rather than buying new. Our house clearance customers frequently comment on the empathy and professionalism shown by the team, at what can be a difficult time for them. Our regular customers pop in for a chat and a browse and benefit from their interaction with companions. The testimonials below celebrate and value the Emmaus Bristol community and the good work we do.

Please add your own review on Facebook or Google , or drop us an email with your feedback.


“The team at Emmaus have just completed a 2 day job at my elderly mother’s house. I found them to be professional, courteous, time efficient and organised. They were a dream to be around. Nothing was too much trouble and they worked together as a team in an excellent way. They exceeded my expectations. They respected the property and the contents and worked in all weather conditions without complaint. I would wholeheartedly recommend this team!”

Tim, clearance customer Oct 2019

“Thanks for the receipt and for the clearance. I’m so glad we got in touch with Emmaus. You have all made it as easy as possible for us. Thank you.”

Rosie, April 2019

“Thanks for your help in clearing my mother’s property. I really appreciated your prompt response to my email enquiry and the approach and helpfulness of your crew during the actual clearance. I’m happy to recommend Emmaus’ house clearance to anyone else who may need your services!”

Sue, clearance customer Nov 2018

“I am writing to say a very big THANK YOU for all your generous help last Tuesday in providing and delivering a bed to our Member who had been homeless and was moving into a Housing Association flat without ANY furniture! He was delighted with the bed, and we managed to find him other basic furniture to manage until he settles and can get the rest of his furniture.”

Recent solidarity recipient

Facebook reviews

Emmaus Bristol
5.0
Based on 26 reviews
powered by Facebook
Alice K McGarvie
Alice K McGarvie
2020-11-13T17:39:09+0000
Initially booked a furniture removal for when my tenants moved out of my flat, but had to change this to a mid... clearance last minute as the tenants had left so much stuff behind. This change was no trouble, and communication with Malcolm was excellent. Four guys showed up and got to work moving and shifting with good humour and customer service. They worked quickly and nothing was too much trouble, took all the furniture and bagged up tat. It was great to know that everything will be sorted, reused and recycled by Emmaus (even springs in mattresses) so the environmental impact of this clearance will be minimal. Would absolutely recommend Emmaus for a house clearance. Thanks guys!read more
Pauline Harris
Pauline Harris
2019-09-20T18:09:47+0000
We had Emmaus to clear my father-in-law's house and they were fabulous. From first point of contact to day of... collection, everything was made clear and the team arrived on time. We were really impressed with the guys that came out - everyone was friendly, professional and immediately got on with the job. When we came back at the end of the afternoon, they were still smiling! Everyone had a great work ethic. As a family, we are pleased that we chose Emmaus, who do such a brilliant job in not only helping homeless with accommodation, but in supporting them and helping them develop new skills. Love, love love!read more
Abigail Hodge
Abigail Hodge
2019-08-07T15:03:39+0000
5 stars.Excellent, friendly service picking up old furniture. Given a slot of 3 hours and called a few minutes before... to say on their way. I was also waiting for a delivery on the same day and was given a 12 hour slot from the company so top marks to Emmaus!read more
Amanda Edge Williams
Amanda Edge Williams
2018-08-24T16:50:23+0000
Fantastic people!! really helpful!! They go above and beyond!!
Corinna Jayne Booth
Corinna Jayne Booth
2018-06-19T06:17:12+0000
Emmaus is a great place to find vintage bargains! I got a lovely filing cabinet from them off Gumtree and they had it... transferred from Stokes Croft to Bedminster for me for free. When I went to collect we then saw a great table in the Bedminster shop and ended up buying that too! Great service from the staff and it’s satisfying to know that when you buy something from them it’s going to a good cause. Thanks Emmaus!read more
Yves Buhler
Yves Buhler
2018-06-16T20:36:27+0000
I am absolutely appalled at the shoddy service that Emmaus Bristol offer.I contacted you a while back about giving... away a bed frame that I don't want anymore, and I was told that the soonest was a few weeks later, on the 4th of June. Although I don't mind waiting if at least I was waiting for some good service.I was told to expect a phone call between 1pm and 4.30pm, which is vague considering that it's during a work day and had to take time off.Just before 2 o'clock, a message was left on my answer machine telling me that nobody would collect said bed and that I had to call a different number for any chance of an explanation. Obviously, the number was not in service, so I called back on the original number and left my own message. It has now been two weeks, I haven't heard back and my bed is still there, picking up dust.I shall be telling ANYONE willing to listen that Emmaus are a waste of people's time and are completely unprofessional. You get the advertising you deserve.read more
Dan Lane
Dan Lane
2018-05-16T10:44:07+0000
Picked up some lovely chairs at a bargain! The staff were very pleasant and even helped carry the chairs to the car.
Anne Rolfe
Anne Rolfe
2018-04-14T14:49:26+0000
Big thank you to Emmaus for collecting a large number of bags of clothes and shoes this week. So friendly and very... efficient, I'll certainly be making use of them again. Can't think of a better charity to support!read more
Anna Harding Clarke
Anna Harding Clarke
2018-04-11T14:40:02+0000
The guys who came to collect my sofa today were highly professional and very friendly. Thank you. It wasn't an easy job!
Kathleen Downie
Kathleen Downie
2018-04-11T13:42:42+0000
Ian, Frances and Thomas came to collect my vintage writing bureau. They were very professional, efficient and friendly... and when they saw I had some sadness about letting the piece go (it was my great grandads) they took the time to make sure I definitely wanted to let it go. It is this type of sensitivity balanced with professionalism that is rare and needed in our world. They also took away my old mini washing machine for scrap - which was a massive favor and they were not expecting to do this. Very much appreciated thank you. and Highly recommended.read more
Paul Francis
Paul Francis
2018-03-28T14:59:12+0000
My mother's house was cleared today by Emmaus, Bristol. Brilliant service, quick, clean and efficient service by a... friendly team who couldn't do enough for you. Also lovely to know that they will recycle as much as they possibly can.read more
John O'Brien
John O'Brien
2018-03-07T17:31:29+0000
Sonia Nicholas
Sonia Nicholas
2018-03-05T18:16:43+0000
Emmaus carried out a house clearance for my family today. I was so impressed by their professionalism and charm. The... entire team was polite, cheerful and incredibly hard working - nothing was too much work for them and they made a difficult process (the clearance was due to a family bereavement) so much easier. I highly recommend this service. Thank you!read more
Cecilia Thirlway
Cecilia Thirlway
2018-02-28T17:41:56+0000
Came to pick up some furniture today - really helpful, charming and efficient. Great service.
Sadie Rose
Sadie Rose
2018-02-17T23:50:40+0000
Popped down for the warehouse sale today and found an amazing array of interesting and affordable furniture. We came... away with a great wardrobe and a big smile on our face thanks to the dazzlingly lovely Ian and all the volunteer team who were incredibly kind and helpful. So good to hear about Emmaus's history and all the work you do to help people in Bristol, what an incredible charity!read more
Amy Bright
Amy Bright
2018-02-16T10:01:37+0000
Absolute Stella shop and lovely staff. Real great bargains and happy to help you find what you need.
Léa Capone
Léa Capone
2017-12-15T17:30:29+0000
Shout out to the amazing team. From the shop to the delivery the crew is just marvelous. Special thanks to Ricky... Francis and Ian for helping me with my delivery. You guys are the best ��read more
Martha Quinn-Forgan
Martha Quinn-Forgan
2017-12-07T09:23:38+0000
Thanks for the prompt delivery yesterday and great service on Saturday at the open warehouse event. We love our new... sofas!read more
Ann Luffman
Ann Luffman
2017-11-10T20:22:49+0000
Thank you so much to Ian and Francis for their help today in collecting our donations today. Really worthy charity.
Chloe Hart
Chloe Hart
2017-10-27T17:58:50+0000
Thank you so much for coming to take our sofas away today.. hopefully someone in need will be able to enjoy them like... we have for many years.. your patients getting them out of our house was first class..You do an amazing job for the Bristol communitiesread more
Soul Fire
Soul Fire
2017-10-17T07:31:07+0000
Karolis Balankovskis
Karolis Balankovskis
2017-09-21T22:09:45+0000
Ashley Tyrer
Ashley Tyrer
2017-06-06T13:15:43+0000
My partner and I recently bought a set of four dining chairs and a desk from Emmaus, for an absolute bargain. The... service we've received has been incredibly friendly and helpful. The furniture was delivered within the time frame they gave us and the furniture is of an excellent quality! I highly recommend Emmaus for good quality furniture at very cheap prices!read more
Trish Rawson
Trish Rawson
2016-12-01T10:11:23+0000
Thank you for all your help recently in moving our daughter into her flat in Bristol. Lovely staff, helpful just what... we needed.read more
Gareth Stuart Jones
Gareth Stuart Jones
2016-11-03T18:54:06+0000
Having lived in both the Leeds and Glasgow emmaus's I know how much they do for the homeless and people that need help.... They are always looking for donations for the shop to help keep the doors open so they can carry on helpingread more
Karin Raudsepp
Karin Raudsepp
2016-10-06T08:09:15+0000
We bought a leather sofa from them for a steal and the staff was absolutely brilliant. Ian, who was extremely helpful,... got me a coffee, offered help to move the sofa and did a discount on it as I was also purchasing an ironing board and some cutlery. Such a fun place to visit and a very good selection of items as well!read more
Faheem Chowdhury
Faheem Chowdhury
2016-08-07T12:50:29+0000
Had a great experience, great value furniture and the staff are super helpful!
Eleanor Cox
Eleanor Cox
2016-03-12T12:20:43+0000
We've purchased two items of furniture from the Bedminster shop and couldn't be more pleased with them. The staff are... very helpful and friendly, particularly Ian who was prepared to go the extra mile to help us. The delivery service is also very good. Would highly recommend!read more
Next Reviews